Vol 4, No 1

Spring - Summer 2013

Cover Page
J. Philip Smith holds degrees in mathematics and education from Dartmouth, Stanford, and Columbia Universities. He rose from the rank of assistant instructor at Southern Connecticut State University to full professor, Department chair, Dean and Provost and, finally, acting President. Throughout his career at SCSU he served as a doctoral sponsor to more than 60 Teachers College students and as a highly regarded teacher of mathematics. Dr. Smith represented Teachers College as a leader of tours and workshops in South America, Africa, and Asia.

John Roscoe Clark joined the Teachers College faculty in 1918. Clark served as the principal of the Horace Mann Lincoln School and as the Chairman of TC’s Department of Mathematics Education. He and Mrs. Clark were the authors of widely used textbooks for elementary and middle school students and teachers. John Roscoe Clark was appointed the Honorary President of the National Council of Teachers of Mathematics in 1970 and served in that position until his death in 1986.